Prizes, Fellowships and Distinctions

2018Elected Fellow, International Economics Association
2018Universitas 21 2018 Gilbert Medal for Contributions to International Higher Education
2017Australian Financial Review Lifetime Achievement Award for Contributions to Higher Education
2017Fiscal Studies Institute Miriam Hederman O’Brien prize for the Most Outstanding Contribution to the Irish fiscal policy debate (with Aedin Doris)
2017Appointed as the inaugural Sir Roland Wilson Chair of Economics, Australian National University.
2015Distinguished Fellow Award, Economics Society of Australia, July.
2014ANU Award for the Most Policy Impact through the Media, Australian National University, Canberra, December.
2014Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Public Policy Impact (with Timothy Higgins), Australian National University, Canberra, November.
2014Academy of the Social Sciences of Australia Annual Cunningham Lecture, “The Government as Banker: Income contingent loans for social and economic progress”, Canberra, November.
2012Named as “The Person with Most Influence in Higher Education in Australia”, The Australian newspaper, February 2012 (finished 5th in both subsequent years, 2013 and 2014, and in the top 50 since).
2011–2017Executive Committee of the International Economics Association (elected)
2009+“Who’s Who in the World”
2007–2013President, Economics Society of Australia (elected, twice).
2008–2015Sippanonda Distinguished Research Scholar, DPUniversity, Thailand (awarded).
2008Invited participant, 2020 Summit (March), Parliament House, Canberra.
2006Edward Shann Memorial Lecture, University of Western Australia.
2004Australian National University Economics Hall of Fame (appointed)
2003+“Who’s Who in Australia”.
2003–2006President, Australian Society of Labour Economists (elected).
2001Order of Australia (General Division) for contributions to the development of Australian economic, labour market and social policy
1993Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences of Australia (elected)
1978–1979Brookings Institution Research Fellowship
1975–1978Yale University Graduate School Fellowships
1975Fulbright Travel Award
1972United Commercial Travellers’ Association of Australia Award, for finishing First in Economics III, ANU